Imperfectly Perfect B’dy Cake

c2-blog

Baking one’s own birthday cake sounds like a bit of a self-centered idea right? That’s exactly what I had decided to do for my 25th birthday. It’s not the self-centered part that made me do this actually; rather it was the realizations that made this the perfect opportunity to marry my passion for baking (or even cooking) with the fact that store baked cakes were starting not to give me the same satisfaction that they used to in the past. Suddenly it hit me that since I bake cakes and burn them (just kidding) almost throughout the year, why should I go for a store-bought one on my special day?  Yes, I would be missing the surprise part wherein my friends bring the cake to smear it all over my face, but hey I can still count on them to do that. What are friends for anyway?

Hmmm, what kind of cake? This thought was eating my brains up. And, then I remembered about the Almond flour cake that has been waiting on my bake list for a very long time. Something  as rich as that is what I wanted for my special day. Earlier I tried not experimenting on this particular cake since the ingredients were falling slightly heavy on my pocket to do the trial & errors. But hey my B’day calls for a special cake and I decided this was it. One of the few privileges that come with being the B’day gal, I guess.

c16n

Now it’s time for some fun facts regarding Almond flour cakes. Truly and irresistibly inspiring facts,

  • It’s gluten-free, so easy to digest and amazing in taste.
  • Almonds are a great source of Vitamin E, Vitamin B2, and Potassium. The ones who are sensitive to gluten will definitely have deficiencies in these Vitamins and minerals. So baking with Almond flour is a delicious way of covering up these deficiencies.
  • Studies have found that replacing the regular flour with the Almond flour in the baking of bread/muffins will reduce their risks of heart diseases.
  • Almonds are a good source of protein.

Last but not the least;

Ladies!!!! It does wonders to the skin.

In case you are wondering, nope I am neither a nutritionist nor a fitness freak. I just Googled these facts up.

Guys, just one more thing and this is my last pearl of wisdom I promise. Whenever you bake a cake for yourself, all the fat and sugar filled ingredients lie in front of you in its full glory and gets really imprinted in your head. Now this comes in handy to automatically slowing you down and making sure you do not hog the whole cake in one go. On the other hand, a store baked cake gets eaten up rather quickly (at least by me) since I do not see for myself all that goes into making one.

c17-blogger

This self-baking cake theory helped me a lot to just have a piece or two of my rich, nutty frosted Almond cake. Plus it made me feel proud inside that I was the creator of this cake which my parents and my friends all loved and were gorging down.

P.S. This is my very first write-up that I wrote a few years back and never published. It was written when I thought about blogging for the first time, and all this time it patiently waited for its turn to see the world outside that PC folder. So, there is no doubt that it deserves to be the first post on my own blog. Glad that I finally took the time & effort to show this blog a good time.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. chefkreso says:

    It really looks perfect! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Being Wholesome says:

      Thank you 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

