Marble Cake

img_4596

Being a foodie with a sweet tooth, it is difficult to make people understand that I prefer plain cakes to the ones with frosting. Not that I never liked frosted cakes, I used to eat a lot of cream cakes and pastries as a kid but even then I preferred plain cakes with my evening chai, like a snack.

While cream cakes were occasional treats, plain cakes were always available at home. Even when my mom used to bake in her small vintage oven (I love that oven but sadly it’s not with us anymore sigh!), she never used to finish the cake with any cream or decorations, it was always left plain and we(me & my brother) loved it that way. So, now you know why I am so fond of plain cakes.

379346_10150878141143702_1877064297_n

Coming back to Marble cake, the first time I tasted this cake was in Kerala during one of our vacations at granny’s home. Needless to say that little Shruti was excited and fascinated with the idea of chocolate cake swirled inside a vanilla cake without any cream. Since then, I was hooked to the marbled effect in a cake that tasted deliciously perfect. And by the time I started baking, without a doubt marble cake was on my priority list.

img_9381-2

Now I have reached a point where I lost count on how many times I have baked this cake. I have even tried it with a swirled icing as well although I am not a fan of frosted cakes. And, it’s time to share this beautiful recipe which is my go-to recipe when I have to bake something simple but elegant.

img_9378-2-2

Recipe

Ingredients:

All purpose flour – 1 ½ cups

Baking Powder – 3/4 tsp

Baking Soda – ¼ tsp

Salt – a pinch

Granulated Sugar – ¾ cup

Butter – ½ cup/100g

Egg – 2

Yogurt – 1/3 cup

Milk – ½ cup

Hot water – 1 tbsp

Unsweetened Cocoa powder – ¼ cup

Vanilla essence – 1 tsp

Method:

  • Line a baking tin with parchment paper and set them aside. Preheat the oven to 180°C or level 5 if using a gas oven.
  • In a dry bowl whisk the flour, baking powder, baking soda & salt together and keep aside.
  • In another bowl cream the butter and sugar with a hand mixer or a stand mixer with paddle attachment, until it turns pale and fluffy.
  • Add eggs one at a time to the butter-sugar mixture and mix it after each addition.
  • Add the yogurt and vanilla essence to this and mix it well.
  • Add the flour in portions into the wet mixture alternating with milk, beginning and ending with flour and mix it gently after each addition with a whisk just until combined without any lumps.
  • Add hot water into cocoa powder and make it into a smooth paste.
  • Combine the cocoa paste and ¾th cup of the cake batter to make the chocolate batter.
  • Spoon the vanilla batter into the baking tin alternating with the chocolate batter and with a skewer swirl the batter gently to create the marbled effect.
  • Place the tin into the preheated oven and bake the cake at 160°C or level 3 on a gas oven, till a wooden skewer comes out clean when inserted into the middle of the cake.

 Tips: 

  • The frosting I have used above is slightly thin vanilla butter cream frosting with chocolate sauce to get that perfect swirled effect.
  • I recommend using the whisk towards the end because it helps you get the batter combined just right without any over beating or lumps.
Leave a Reply

