Healthy Plantain Jam

IMG_0593

Hey, how do you feel about jam? I know I feel quite jammy about jam. And, that means I love it. As a kid I used to have a thing for jams, I mean all kinds of it. No partiality there for sure. I used to have it with bread, roti, biscuits, rusks and sometimes even with dosa. Yeah, I am one of those and now you know how much it meant to me during my childhood days. It still means a lot to me but after growing up I limited my jam intakes due to the high amounts of additives and sugar content in it. Now before you start getting ideas about me, let me tell you that I’m neither a fitness freak nor do I have a slim and trim figure. But I try to avoid unwanted amounts of artificial things in my food unless it’s some crucial jalebi situation going on. I mean come on, it has to be yellow or orange otherwise it’s not jalebi. That’s all!

IMG_0589

So anyway, coming back to jam, what if I tell you that I have a healthy version of jam that too without compromising even a little bit of its taste with an amazing flavour which you will never find in any store? Wow, while saying that I suddenly feel so powerful but never mind.

IMG_0597

Well, I am talking about Plantains here. Some are familiar with it but not many I believe. The jam with plantain is nothing like the sugar and artificial color loaded regular ones. It is a healthy recipe that calls for jaggery and ghee(clarified butter) which are definitely going to add some wonderful flavours to it in the healthiest way.

IMG_0595

The ones who are skeptical about plantains can switch it with regular bananas and make some banana jam using the same recipe by avoiding the steaming part in it. But let me tell you no banana can give you the unique flavour plantain has to offer. Again, it’s up to you. This jam can be used as a spread on almost everything such as bread, hot chappatis, cake fillings and much more depending on your creativity level.  So let’s see how to get this healthy and delicious jam ready in a jiffy.

Recipe

Ingredients:

Plantains – 3

Jaggery shavings- 1 cup packed

Water – ¼ cup

Ghee – 2 tbsp

Cardamom powdered – 1 tsp

Method

  • Cook the plantains in a steamer with its skin on till it is soft.
  • Once the plantains are cooked properly keep them aside and let it come to room temperature.
  • Meanwhile, melt the jaggery shavings with ¼ cup of water on high flame and strain to remove any impurities.
  • Peel the plantains and puree them. (If needed remove the black seed thread in the middle before pureeing)
  • In a heavy bottomed pan or a non-stick pan pour the jaggery and bring it to boil, and let it simmer till the solution becomes slightly sticky.
  • Add the plantain puree to the jaggery solution and combine well.
  • When it starts bubbling, simmer the mixture and continue stirring till the mixture thickens up and starts to leave the sides of the pan.
  • Add the ghee little at a time and keep stirring, continuing the same till all the ghee is used up and the jam reaches the desired consistency. (Make sure all the moisture is gone before switching off the flame)
  • Add the cardamom, mix well and let it cool.
  • Transfer the jam to a dry and air tight glass jar and keep it in a dry place.

Note

  • You can puree fresh plantains and use them directly in the jaggery solution but the cooking time will be longer this way.
  • Continuous stirring is important in this as there are chances of jaggery to get burnt.
  • Make sure you use only dry spoon/knife to serve the jam.
  • It’s recommended to refrigerate the jam for longer life as there are no preservatives added to it.
Leave a Reply

