Plantain Preserve Bundt Cake

IMG_0087

I know the name is quite new to most of you and so is to me. This cake was one of the successful experimentations of my curious mind. I mean, since I was planning to make a cake with a completely new ingredient, I made it in my head several times to get a clear idea before making it in real. Now, why I chose plantains? Simply because I was bored of the usual banana bread or cake, and most of the other fruits were already overused in cakes. So this time, I wanted something new and local and that’s how plantain happened in my cake.

Plantains are not as common as bananas in most of the places but I don’t think anyone needs an introduction to it. I mean who doesn’t know the yummy banana chips from Kerala? They are made of raw plantains and in Kerala; plantains are extremely popular that we have so many savoury & sweet delicacies made with both the raw & ripe ones. If you ask me, my pick would be the steamed version of the ripe plantains with a little ghee drizzled over it. It used to be one of my favourite breakfast/tea time snacks as a kid. Wait a sec, are you wondering how could I steam a banana and eat? Well, first of all, it is not just a banana; it is not as soft as a ripe banana so even after steaming, it holds the shape without getting soggy and tastes much sweeter than the fresh one.

Now, coming from such a plantain filled food background, naturally what I felt was “why no one ever used this in cakes”? When I tried to find a recipe online, most of them failed to impress me. Also, I felt if I use the fresh ones, the chances of achieving the desired result are thin. That’s how I ended up making and using the plantain jam in the cake which is more like a preserve giving an amazing flavour to the cake. Without any further delay let’s get down to the recipe.

IMG_0090

Recipe

Ingredients:

Whole wheat flour – 1 cup

All purpose flour – 1 cup

Baking Powder – 1 tsp

Baking Soda – ¼ tsp

Salt – ¼ tsp

Coconut oil – ½ cup

Ghee – ¼ cup

Granulated Sugar – 1 cup

Eggs – 3

Plantain Preserve – 2 tbsp.

Coconut Water – ¾ cup

Raisins – ¼ cup

Cardamom Powder – ½ tsp

Vanilla – 1 tsp

Method:

  • Preheat the oven to 200 degree Celsius and grease a bundt cake tin and keep aside.
  • Sift the flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cardamom and keep aside.
  • In a large bowl, cream the sugar, coconut oil and ghee until its light and pale in colour.
  • Add eggs one at a time to the creamed mixture and combine well after each addition.
  • Add the plantain preserve and vanilla essence, and beat it well into the mixture.
  • Whisk in the sifted flours alternating with coconut water, beginning and ending with the flour mixture.
  • Fold in the raisins into the batter and bake at 180 degree Celsius till a skewer inserted into the centre of the cake comes out clean.
Leave a Reply

