Ragi Banana Blender Bread

IMG_0588

Ragi or Finger Millet, my new found love. Not that I am tasting it for the first time, in fact, I grew up eating this power packed wonder grain. Yes, like every other traditional mother, my mom also ditched the instant baby foods available in the market and chose health over convenience for us. And those days, Ragi was one of her favourite choices when it came to baby foods. In South India, it is one of the most recommended baby foods by doctors as it is loaded with essential nutrients and is easily digestible for babies because of its high fiber content.

IMG_0581

It’s after a very long time I felt the need to bring this nutritious grain back into my diet. Although I always knew that Ragi is a healthy grain and all that, I never bothered much about it until I learned more about it when my dad was asked by his naturopathy doctor to include Ragi porridge in his diet to deal with his age old digestion problem. That is when I re-discovered the health benefits of this grain and realized what I was missing on.

IMG_0587

Since I was re-introducing Ragi to my diet after so many years I didn’t want to start with the same old porridge. So, I tried it in my whole wheat banana bread which turned out so well and temptingly aromatic that you will forget that you are eating something healthy. It’s that indulgent! The best thing about this bread is it could be eaten for breakfast as well as a pre-workout snack. Either way, you will get all the essential nutrients for your body from this bread.

IMG_0595

Recipe

Ingredients:

Whole Wheat Flour – 1 cup

Ragi flour – ½ cup

Baking Powder – ½ tsp

Baking Soda – ¼ tsp

Salt – a pinch

Brown Sugar/ Coconut Palm sugar – 1/2 cup

Egg – 1 large

Plain Yogurt – ¼ cup

Mashed Banana – 2

Coconut oil – ¼ cup

Vanilla essence – 1 tsp

Mixed nuts chopped – ¼ cup

Raisins – ¼ cup

Method:

  • Preheat the oven to 200°C. Grease a loaf tin and keep aside.
  • In a large bowl, mix the flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt, chopped nuts and raisins with a whisk and keep aside.
  • Put the sugar, egg, mashed banana, coconut oil, yogurt and vanilla essence in a blender and blend everything together into a smooth mixture.
  • Pour the wet mixture into the flour mixture and mix until just combined.
  • Pour the batter into the prepared tin and top it with some chopped nuts if needed.
  • Bake it at 180°C till a wooden skewer inserted into the center of the bread comes out clean.
Leave a Reply

