Mango Coconut Healthy Bars

IMG_0610

Mango season has been on for a month or so and I was desperately waiting for this season, to eat, drink and cook with mangoes in all possible ways. Despite it being my favourite fruit I still couldn’t make something with it other than gulping down every fresh batch I bought so far. Time is definitely a problem here but other than that I think this time I could sheepishly agree that not even a single piece of those fresh and yummy Alphonsos made its way to any of the planned recipes because I put them in my tummy as soon as I sliced them up. I mean who can resist a sweet and bright yellow coloured Alphonso? Well, one whole month of continuous eating kind of helped my craving I guess so I somehow managed to make something healthy and delicious with my previous batch.

IMG_0607

I made a healthy baked bar with mango, fresh coconut, and semolina with a hint of cardamom. The recipe was a hit among the fitness freaks at work as there was barely any unhealthy ingredient in it and that made it a healthy work time snack for us. The best part about this recipe is it’s very easy to whip up so next time I can’t really say that I don’t have time to bake. Also, I noticed that my healthy bakes are getting easier nowadays. Looks like this time I will definitely shed some pounds. Okay, let’s go to the recipe before I start getting my hopes up again.

IMG_0608

Recipe  

Ingredients    

Semolina (fine variety) – 1 cup

Baking Powder – ½ tsp

Salt – a pinch

Powdered Cardamom – 1 tsp

Ghee – ¼ cup

Freshly grated coconut – ¾ cup

Coconut sugar – ½ cup

Mango Puree – 1 cup

Yogurt – 2 tsp

Crushed Pistachios – a handful

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 200°C. Grease a square tin and keep aside.
  • In a large bowl mix the semolina, baking powder, salt and cardamom with a whisk.
  • Pour ghee into this mixture and combine well.
  • Add the coconut into the semolina- ghee mixture, combine well and keep aside.
  • In a blender blend the sugar and puree till the sugar dissolves.
  • Pour this puree and the yogurt into the semolina mix, combine well and keep aside for 10 minutes letting semolina to absorb the moisture.
  • Transfer the batter to the prepared tin and top it with crushed pistachios and bake it at 180°C for 25-30 minutes.

Note

  • You can use both canned and fresh mangoes for the puree but to make it healthier I suggest to use fresh and sweet alphonsos.
  • If making fresh puree, you can blend the sugar along with the mango pieces to make the puree.
  • Coconut sugar could be replaced by brown sugar or white sugar depends upon how healthy you want to make it.
  • You can use any nut of your choice to garnish.
  • The baking temperature and time that I mention in my recipes are standard ones and it could vary from oven to oven. So please set the temperature accordingly and keep an eye on it till it’s baked.
Leave a Reply

