Ragi Chocolate Muffin

IMG_0631

Yes, I know I have been posting a lot of Ragi based recipes lately and yet to post more. I mean why not? I just re-discovered this wonder grain and I can’t believe I kept it away from me for so long. Now that Ragi has made a powerful comeback into my life I am trying to incorporate this into my diet in all possible ways especially in my baked goodies because of its rich flavour and aroma.

IMG_0634

Until recently I didn’t know that you could bake well with Ragi; like properly. Its versatility is immense and it compliments almost every recipe. My first try was the Ragi Banana Bread which I fell in love with instantly. Now this time I tried Ragi chocolate muffins for one of my health freak colleagues who is a die-hard chocolate lover as well, like every other girl. Although it tasted yum I personally don’t prefer the idea of mixing chocolate and Ragi because cocoa has an overpowering taste. But hey, it’s good news for chocolate lovers who want to add a healthy element to their indulgence. So, let’s see how to bake this healthy chocolate muffin without losing out on its flavours.

IMG_0638

Recipe

Ingredients:

Whole wheat flour – 1 cup

Ragi flour – ½ cup

Cocoa powder – ¼ cup

Baking powder – 1 tsp

Baking soda – ¼ tsp

Salt – ¼ tsp

Coconut sugar/Brown sugar – 1 cup

Eggs – 2

Dark chocolate chips – 1/3 cup

Melted Butter – 1 tbsp

Coconut oil – 1/3 cup

Yogurt – ½ cup

Vanilla essence – 1 tsp

Chopped dry cherries – a handful

Crushed nuts of choice – for topping

Method:

  • Preheat the oven to 200 degree Celsius and prepare a muffin tin with muffin liners.
  • In a microwave melt the dark chocolate chips with butter and keep aside to cool down.
  • In a large bowl combine the wheat flour, Ragi flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, salt and dry cherries with a whisk and keep aside.
  • Put the eggs, coconut oil, melted dark chocolate, yogurt, coconut sugar and vanilla essence in a clean and dry blender and blend it well till the sugar is dissolved.
  • Pour this wet mixture into the dry mixture and gently mix everything well together with a whisk until just combined.
  • Pour the batter into the prepared muffin liners ¾ full and sprinkle with the crushed nuts.
  • Bake the muffins at 180 degree Celsius for 12-15 minutes depending on the size of the muffin liners.

Notes:

  • You can use the oil/melted butter of your choice in this recipe if you don’t want to use coconut oil.
  • It is a healthy muffin that’s why I have used coconut sugar but if you want you can substitute it with white sugar or brown sugar as well.
  • Baking time and temperature depend upon oven to oven. So please adjust the temperature and bake time accordingly.

Leave a Reply

