Sago Kheer/Pudding

IMG_0663

Sago kheer or Chowari payasam(in Malayalam) as I know it from my childhood days is a quick dessert fix by my mom whenever we craved for some sweets. I have never seen her making this for any guests so every time it was made exclusively for us. Some little things to be happy about as a child I say.  When we were kids my mom used to experiment a lot with desserts especially on the weekends. But if it’s a busy day for her then this has always been her go-to recipe to keep us calm & quiet.

IMG_0670

No matter where it is made the base recipe for sago pudding remains the same everywhere. In kheer, we use cardamom/rose essence and in the pudding, they use cinnamon/vanilla I guess that’s the main difference. And what do I prefer? Of course the simple homemade or rather mom made kheer. I have adapted a lot of her recipes although I act like I invented them to which she only smiles and nods. But this one here is just the way she makes it I haven’t changed a thing. Although it wasn’t planned, I made this kheer for the weekend and it happens to be mother’s day today. I like it when things fall into places like this without me even trying for it. So, here I am dedicating this simple and wonderful sago kheer recipe to my mom on this mother’s day for having such a great daughter. What else do you think I was going to say? 😛

IMG_0673

Recipe

Ingredients:

Sago pearls – ½ cup

Milk – 1 ½ cup

Water – ½ cup

Sugar – ¼ cup (or more to taste)

Cardamom powder – 1tsp

Crushed nuts – for topping

Method:

  • Soak the sago pearls in hot water for 1 hour.
  • In a heavy bottomed saucepan combine the milk and water and bring it to a boil.
  • Simmer the milk-water mixture till is reduced to 1½ cup.
  • Add the soaked sago pearls to the simmering milk, stir well and let it boil again.
  • Once boiled, simmer the mixture and cook the sago till it’s transparent.
  • Add sugar at this stage and simmer the kheer until it reaches the desired consistency.
  • Switch off the flame and sprinkle the cardamom powder & crushed nuts and mix it well.
  • Let the kheer cool down and serve with some more crushed nuts if needed.

Note:

  • The amount of sugar is up to your taste, so add accordingly.
  • If the kheer gets too thick while simmering you can add some more milk into the mixture and continue simmering for some more time.
  • This kheer tastes best when chilled overnight in the refrigerator.
Leave a Reply

